Recent Announcements

New RUSA Google Group!

The RUSA Board is pleased to announce a new randonneurs-usa@ Google list for RUSA-specific discussions. This is intended to bridge the gap between regional lists and the global randon@ list. In addition to providing a forum for member-to-member communication within RUSA, this will serve as an additional channel for RUSA announcements. You need not be a current or past member of RUSA in order to join and participate, and you are free to join and leave as you please.

You can join the group here.

Please keep in mind the following rules when participating in this new group:

  1. Participants are expected to be civil and respectful towards each other and RUSA volunteers/officials.
  2. Inflammatory/disparaging personal remarks, off-topic posts, and unsolicited commercial email (spam) will not be tolerated and should not be posted to the group.  
  3. Do not join and post to this group with the sole purpose of selling something. If your first post is a for-sale post, you will be removed from this group immediately.
  4. To foster randonneuring community, consider signing your posts with your real name if you feel comfortable.
  5. At the discretion of the group administrators, non-compliance with these rules may result in either a private warning or immediate removal/banning from the group.

Store and Awards News

RUSA reflective vests are in short supply in many sizes. We are working to find a replacement vendor as the former vendor has disappeared.

ACP Randonneur 5000 applications for 2022 are now open. R-10000 applications are awaiting word on expected changes to the rules. We've not heard anything about medal deliveries from last year's orders.

ACP Super Randonneur Medals - We are still awaiting delivery of the 2021 SR medals. ACP has not received its order yet.

Perms Rule Change - start/finish between checkpoints

RUSA has added a provision in its Permanents rules to allow you to start and finish your ride at a location other than a checkpoint (if the perm route finishes where it starts). Here is the new wording (highlighted):

Ride Direction and Starting Checkpoint Options - Permanent routes may be ridden in reverse direction. The rider must determine that the reverse route is safe and legal, and revise the route if necessary to make it so (for example, to avoid riding the wrong way on a one-way street). For a permanent route that starts and finishes at the same location, the rider may (1) start and finish the permanent at an intermediate checkpoint or (2) start at any location, proceed to a checkpoint, traverse the other checkpoints in their order on the route, and return to the original starting location. In the case of #2, the rider must document the start and finish location in a manner described in Article 8, providing timed proof of passage for both starting and finishing.

Jake Kassen Selected for 2021 ARA

The RUSA Board has selected Jake Kassen for the 2021 American Randonneur Award, for his years of service, including as Boston RBA, RBA Liaison, and creator of such tools as the Cardomatic and Geo-Search for Rides available to RUSA members.

Each year, the Board "presents an award to a member of the organization who has made a significant and outstanding contribution to randonneuring in the United States" as described on the ARA info page, from among those nominated by RUSA members.

Congratulations, Jake!  Highly deserved.

SR-600 and R-10000 Changes

Some changes are coming to the Super Randonnée 600 program and the ACP Randonneur 10000 award.

SR-600 changes

What we know

  • SR-600 rides will be sanctioned by Provence Randonneurs, Sophie Matter's local club in France, rather than by Audax Club Parisien. The ACP will no longer be involved.
  • Changes to the program are mostly cosmetic, from a rider's perspective.
  • There are no planned changes to SR-600 mileage or other award credit (e.g., R-12) for RUSA awards.

What we don't know

  • How the program may morph in the future.  E.g. Sophie is very interested in providing more gravel options.

Read more about the SR-600 program at its new site.

R-10000 changes

What we know

  • R-10000 will not require a SR-600 ride, likely effective January 1, 2022.
  • The award MAY require a 2nd Flèche instead of the SR-600.

What we don't know

  • Transition plans and retroactive credit

ACP has advised us that they will be meeting on February 7 to make decisions on the R-10000 award. 

We'll let everyone know as soon as we learn more details.

Election Results for 2022 RUSA Board of Directors and RBA Liaison

RUSA is pleased to announce that Charlie Martin and Vincent Muonoke have been elected to serve 3-year terms on the Board of Directors and that Rob Hawks has been re-elected as RBA Liaison for 2022. We would also like to extend our sincere thanks to the other candidates who stood for election. A special thanks, also, to Deb Banks and John Lee Ellis, who will be stepping down at the end of the year, in both cases after two three-year terms serving as board members. The election results are as follows:

For Regular Board Positions:

Iwan Barankay - 68
Jose Blanco - 52
Dragi Gasevski - 38
Paul Kramer - 168
Scott Manning - 78
Charlie Martin - 218
Vincent Muoneke - 219
Richard Stum - 101

For RBA Liaison:
Rob Hawks - 36

2022 Board Election - Voting open until November 30

Election of Board of Directors and RBA Liaison take place from November 1st to November 30th. Please visit this year's Election Page to learn about the candidates and vote if you are an active member. Contact Dave Thompson at with any questions you may have.

Members may vote for Board of Directors candidates. RBAs may additionally vote for their RBA Liaison. RUSA sincerely thanks all of those who have stepped up to stand for election this year.

RUSA Board Nominations - FINAL

These are those who have been nominated and accepted nomination as of 21-Oct-2021. (Nominations closed October 20.) Candidates' statements and photos will be posted soon.

    RBA Liaison:
2125   Rob Hawks                                                
    Regular Board positions:
12742   Iwan Barankay
8619   Jose Blanco
13193   Dragi Gasevski
2691   Paul Kramer
12589   Jan Mack
9105   Scott Manning
12815   Charlie Martin
5004   Vincent Muoneke
4638   Richard Stum