American Randonneur Award

Once a year, the RUSA Board of Directors and the RUSA Awards Committee present an award to a member of the organization who has made a significant and outstanding contribution to randonneuring in the United States.

This person is to be recognized for having gone above and beyond the call of duty to help our niche of cycling grow. It can be a RBA who has dramatically increased brevet participation, a hard-working RUSA volunteer, or someone who has helped randonneuring flourish by a selfless act, good sportmanship, camaraderie, or by being a good samaritan.

RUSA wishes to recognize that special volunteer and inspire others to do the same. This is a most prestigious award, a high honor of American Randonneuring. It is the only award we have that names a single winner; all other awards can be earned each season by any number of our members who qualify successfully.

This person must be a RUSA member. (Check the RUSA website Members Search to see if the person that you have in mind is a current member and note their membership number).

The American Randonneur Award is given by the RUSA Board. The nominees' names come from the general membership. The Board then votes on the award winner. Please note that the Board has decided to exempt itself from any active nominations for this award in order to avoid possible conflicts of interest that could then affect other Board matters. If an American Randonneur Award nomination comes in for someone who is on the Board during the nomination period or when the vote is taken, it is held over until the year after that person leaves the Board, and then placed among the next batch of nominees.

You may nominate a member by email. To make a nomination by email, send your name and your RUSA membership number with your nominee's name and RUSA membership number to: Johnny Bertrand. (

Please submit your nomination by December 15 with a short explanation of why your nominee is deserving of the award. Your nomination must include a supporting statement for it to be accepted.

ARA award

The previous recipients of the award:

Year Recipient
2001 Johnny Bertrand
2002 David Buzzee
2003 Jennifer Wise
2004 James Kuehn
2005 Daryn Dodge
2006 Bill Bryant
2007 Robert Fry
2008 Dan Driscoll
2009 Mark Thomas
2010 Don Hamilton
2011 Mike Dayton
2012 Crista Borras
2013 John Lee Ellis
2014 Lois Springsteen
2015 Vincent Muoneke
2016 Bruce Berg
2017 Shab Memarbashi 
2018 Dan Shadoan
2019 Spencer Klaassen
2020 Janice Chernekoff
2021 Jake Kassen
2022 Debra Banks
2023 Tim Sullivan