By definition, a randonnée is a long ramble in the countryside. The American Explorer Award recognizes the achievements of RUSA members rambling across the United States. The award is earned by riding events that cover at least ten (10) different U.S. states and territories.

This is an ongoing achievement program that recognizes continued exploration of additional states and territories. The maximum achievable number of states and territories will depend on the availability of routes and the member's desire to explore.

Award criteria:

  • Rides must be of the following types:
    • ACP brevets and flèches;
    • RUSA brevets, populaires, arrows and darts;
    • RUSA permanents and permanent populaires;
    • RUSA sanctioned Super Randonnée permenants;
    • 1200km events held in the United States after 1998.
  • Routes must pass through or be contained within any of the 50 states of the United States, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories (Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, ...). Each state or territory through which the ride passes is counted and multiple states/territories can be achieved on a single ride.
  • There is no time limit to earn this award.
  • Only RUSA members may apply and each qualifying ride must be completed while an active member of RUSA.


  • A minimum of ten states or territories must be completed to receive initial recognition.
  • The award consists of a plaque and a set of nameplates of the states and territories achieved.
  • After achieving the initial recognition, members can apply for additional state/territory nameplates to add to their award as they are earned. Additional nameplates will be provided free to award recipients in increments of at least five states/territories.
  • Recognition will be given online and in American Randonneur as members achieve the minimum award level and claim additional states.

RUSA congratulates the riders who earned and applied for the American Explorer award.

Apply for this award online.